PROBATE COURT

COFFEE COUNTY

Beverly Johns, Probate Judge

l 0 l S. Peterson Ave.

                                                                                        Suite # A-20 Douglas, Georgia 31533

Phone (912) 384-5213

Fax (912)-383-8116

Coffeeprobate2@yahoo.com

Hours: 8:30 -5:00 Monday - Friday

BASIC REQUIREMENTS FOR A WEAPON CARRY LICENSE:
Applicant must be not less than 21 years of age UNLESS he or she:
Is at least 18 years of age; and
Provides proof that he or she has completed basic training in the armed forces of the United States; and
Provides proof that he or she is actively serving in the armed forces of the United States or has been honorably discharged from such service;
Applicant must be a resident of Coffee County
Applicant who is not a citizen of the United States must provide proof of legal presence in the U.S.
Naturalized citizens of the United States must provide naturalization certificate and original INS number
Applicants who were born outside the United States must bring a certified birth certificate or a passport showing the country of birth
Applicant must provide picture I.D. and proof of residence in Coffee County if your current address does not match the address listed on your picture I.D.
Applicant must not currently be on probation for any offense
Applicant must be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal and mental health records check
Applicant must not have any legal disqualification to receipt of the license
*** WCL Renewal: Any application made prior to expiration of the license or within 30 days after expiration of the license. Fingerprinting is not required only name and identifier check will be performed.

Fees, Costs and Procedure:
Weapons Carry License Application Fee: $81.50
Weapons Carry License Renewal Fee: $30.00
 

NO REFUNDS
· If an applicant’s Weapon Carry License is denied, they will not be provided a refund of any fees paid for the application process.
· If an applicant’s fingerprints are rejected as illegible by the GBI, the applicant must return for reprinting within 90 days.
· An applicant is allowed to pick up their Weapons Carry License to avoid delay in mailing by request only.
· A lost or stolen license may be replaced upon payment of a fee. A sworn statement that the license has been lost or stolen is required; if the license was stolen, the theft must be reported to the law enforcement agency where the theft occurred.
· A determination of eligibility can only be made by the Judge of the Probate Court AFTER receipt of the required criminal and mental health records and immigrant alien inquiry, if applicable.
· COURT PERSONNEL CANNOT GIVE ADVICE OR OPINIONS CONCERNING YOUR ELIGIBILITY.
IF YOU CHOOSE TO START APPLICATION PRIOR TO COMING INTO THE PROBATE COURT TO COMPLETE APPPLICATION PROCESS:
Go to : www.georgiaprobaterecords.com
NOTE: Once you receive your confirmation number, you will print that page and bring it into our office to complete your application process.

MARRIAGE LICENSES

Any Georgia resident may apply for a license in any county in Georgia. However, if neither applicant is a resident of Georgia, applicants must obtain a marriage license in the county where the ceremony is held.

 COFFEE COUNTY PROBATE JUDGE DOES NOT PERFORM WEDDING CEREMONIES IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO ARRANGE FOR WEDDING OFFICIANT


TO APPLY FOR A GEORGIA MARRIAGE LICENSE:

Applicants must provide a valid Photo I.D., Birth Certificate or Passport
Applicants whose last marriage ended in Divorce shall provide a certified copy of their Final Judgement and Decree of Divorce.
Applicants must be 18 years of age.
If the Applicants have completed a qualifying premarital education program in accordance with O.C.G.A § 19-3-30, the certificate must be presented at the time the marriage license is obtained to receive the reduced price rate for the license.

HB 228 MARRIAGE LICENSE CHANGES
EFFECTIVE: JULY 1, 2019
UNDERAGE APPLICANTS
1. REMOVES PARENTAL CONSENT TO MARRY FOR UNDER AGE 18 APPLICANTS. (THERE REMAINS NO PROVISION IN
THE LAW FOR UNDERAGE APPLICANTS FOR REASON OF PREGNANCY.)
2. A 17 YEAR OLD MAY BE ISSUED A MARRIAGE LICENSE IF All OF THE FOLLOWING ARE MET:
A. A PETITION IS GRANTED IN JUVENILE COURT FOR EMANCIPATION AND A CERTIFIED COPY OF SUCH ORDER IS
PRESENTED. (SEE §15-11-720)
B. 15 DAYS HAVE PASSED SINCE THE DATE THE ORDER GRANTING EMANCIPATION WAS GRANTED.
C. THE OLDER PARTY TO THE MARRIAGE IS NO MORE THAN 4 YEARS OLDER THAN THE YOUNGER PARTY.
D. APPLICANTS HAVE COMPLETED PREMARITAL EDUCATION ACCORDING TO §19-3-30.1 (THERE ARE ADDITIONAL COUNSELING REQUIREMENTS FOR THOSE 17 YEARS OLD)
PROOF OF AGE
19-3-36 IS AMENDED TO REQUIRE ALL APPLICANTS TO PRESENT DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE OF PROOF OF AGE.

 Fees:

The fee for a marriage license without premarital counseling is $76.00
$56.00 Without 6 hours premarital counseling
$10.00 certified copy of Marriage License
$10.00 certified copy of Marriage Application

 However, if the couple presents a certificate of completion of a premarital education program then the fee will be $36.00.
$16.00 with notarized certificate of 6 hour premarital counseling
$10.00 certified copy of Marriage License
$10.00 certified copy of Application      

Georgia Probate Courts are a very unique class of court and exercise exclusive, original jurisdiction in the probate of wills, the administration of estates, the appointment of guardians and conservators for minors and incapacitated adults.

The Probate Court also issues both marriage licenses and weapons carry licenses, amends corrections of a mis-spelled first or middle names on birth certificates with proper evidence to prove the misspelling (We do not amend nor change any last name on birth certificates) we also file applications for delayed birth certificates and performs a number of administrative duties.

It is our mission is to serve the citizens of Coffee County in an effective, efficient, professional and courteous manner, and to perform the duties assigned to this court under the constitution and laws of Georgia.

Probate Court Judge and staff are prohibited by law from giving legal advice.